Them Horrors be Everywhere: Symbiont

Posted: February 5, 2017 in Scribble
Tags: , , , , , ,

symbiont

I have always loved creepy crawlies of all kinds. One of my life goals, when I was a kid, was to become an entomologist but I was told I wasn’t smart enough to be one. Back then, we believed anything people said so I became an entomophile instead.

My fascination with insects, spiders, and other creepy-crawlies was not shared by anyone that I knew. I could spend an entire day watching spiders weaving their webs, snails laying eggs, feeding tadpoles and observing the times and lives of a common housefly.

When I found a Facebook entomology group (many many years later) I was more than delighted to become a part of the family. It felt good to know that there are people out there who are pretty much like me and loving the things that I love. One of the members shared the history of scaphism aka the boats and I knew it would be in one of my horror stories for my next collection.

I saw a documentary once where the narrator said only insects will survive when all other life forms perish in a holocaust. I’ve never forgotten that statement. Being a film buff of creature features I’ve always wondered what it would be like if insects do decide one day it was time to eradicate the real pests of the earth.

This tale is a prologue of what could be a very long novel that may be developed someday if the stars align or the insects don’t get us first.

Leave a Reply

