There be Monsters: Out of a Canine’s Manger

Posted: August 26, 2016 in Scribble
Tags: , , , , , , ,

BookCover(EK)

canine

I was a kid when I heard the story of the ghost dog that came back to haunt a family. Whoever told me this said it came in the evening and would chase anyone loitering around outside the house. When I was writing the first few drafts of this story I was still learning how to create scary scenes to terrify the reader. I sometimes practice the actions to see if it would frighten me. One of the scenes where the antagonist felt the presence of the dog behind her actually occurred to me. I turned around from the writing table and saw our late great Mackie looking at me from behind. Although he did startle me, I laughed and ran to hug him for his divine guidance.

When I was writing the first few drafts of this story I was still learning the ropes of how to create scary moments to terrify the readers. I sometimes act out the scenes to see if it frightened me so that I could transcribe it into a descriptive horror. One of the scenes where the antagonist felt the presence of the dog behind her actually happened to me. I imagined what it was like and when I turned around from the writing table I saw our late great Mackie staring at me. Although he did startle me, I laughed and ran over to hug him for his divine guidance.

Leave a Reply

