I found my Lovelies

Posted: November 28, 2014 in Fiddle
Tags: , , ,

The venerable man stood among his secondhand books like a custodian of lost treasures. He saw me browsing about restlessly from the disappointment of not finding what I wanted from the first shop and from the heat that was punishing in this barren building.

He said, “Can I help you?”

I didn’t think he would have what I was looking for but I replied anyway. “Do you have any Pan Book of Horror Stories?”

He didn’t say a word and walked away to a stack of books on the darker side of the building. He flipped every single book that rose like towers of a cityscape, and found the first. He handed it to me and my hands trembled. It felt used, worn, and appreciated. And then there was a second. My heart skipped. And a third. I felt faint. And a fourth and fifth. I couldn’t believe what had happened. I was searching for those books for years.

Now I am able to free the rest of myself I lost in those realms, and recapture those who had escaped within the pages. I’m coming for you my lovelies. It’s time to rekindle a love so deep and dark only we would understand.

Leave a Reply

