Poem: Grow old with me

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Scribble
Tags: , , , , , ,

Grow old

Will you grow old with me?
Will you come play with me like when we were kids?
With not a care in the world,
and not a moment to lose.
Where we go dancing with two left feet
and falling down before we can climb up.
In the embrace of a cold icy lake
and a dash out in the sun,
doing everything silly just to have some fun.

Will you grow old with me?
Will you go count the stars with me
while we try to figure out the constellations?
Make a pact to be friends forever,
and share outlandish dreams of the future.
Steal away from the harsh and hurried world
and go tumble down the sloping hill.
Tell tales of suspense and horror
by the campfire and extended sleepover.

Will you grow old with me
and help me stay young at heart?
To make sense of the nonsense
and to create nonsense with the senseless.
Where we go and make new memories
to outdo the old ones that we remember.
Let’s jump off the cliff of self-importance
and dive into the coolness of the selfless water
where we can find comfort in the arms of each other.

Will you grow old with me?
Come, hold my hand and let’s go climb a tree.

Leave a Reply

