Poem: What are you Afraid of?

Posted: June 28, 2013 in Scribble
Tags: , , , ,

What are you afraid of?
Don’t tell me it’s death
because we all know
we’re going to die anyway.
Don’t tell me it’s failure
because that is a necessary
step towards success.
Don’t tell me it’s the darkness
for the darkest place
is in your heart.
Don’t tell me it’s pain
because pain can be endured
before it can be healed.
Don’t tell me it’s situations
because they can be changed
when you are in control.
Don’t tell me it’s someone else
because blaming someone else
doesn’t make it go away.
Don’t tell me it’s your past
because it is already gone.
Don’t tell me it’s your future
because it has not yet arrived.
Don’t tell me it’s the safety of your loved ones
because you can never protect anyone
by being fearful.
Don’t tell me it’s the unknown
because anything known
can be just as evil.
Don’t tell me it’s rejection
because you yourself
have rejected before.
Don’t tell me it’s change
because you know
nothing lasts forever.
So what are you afraid of?

Comments

Leave a Reply

