On Writing: How writing affects your life

Posted: June 11, 2013 in Scribble
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I constantly try to understand people and get into their heads so that I can write believable characters for my stories. I spend lots of time analyzing and taking on different personas and asking myself what kind of a person would say such a thing, how she says it and why she says it. 

After getting to know these characters I realized that people in general can easily be understood by observing their body language, listening to what they say and noticing their reactions towards situations. When I write mysteries of crime and detection the antagonists spend the most time with me dictating their actions and motifs, sometimes confiding in me their emotional and psychological turmoil. But in the case of dramas and comedies, the protagonists rant about their ups and downs, joys and sorrows, satisfactions and regrets. 

This led me to sum up an idea that if you want to know what kind of a person you are all you have to do it to listen to yourself. Listen to what you say, how you say it and why you say it because it paints a pretty clear picture of who you really are. Since I am not a very observant person, this listening exercise helped me distinguish people I could trust and those I should stay away from. It’s quite easy to spot the superficiality of a person from one who is profound. One who has trickery up his sleeve and one who is sincere. One who is bitter and one who has found peace.

Maybe it’s just me with my cockamamy theories, but it never hurts to try and listen carefully to what someone says in order to know where the conversation is going. 

Comments
  1. LindaGHill says:

    Observation of people is an excellent practice, and one that I think eventually becomes instinctual in a serious writer. The best stories are, after all, character driven.

Leave a Reply

